Revert "Update the scp command to work by default."
authorMichael Meffie <mmeffie@sinenomine.net>
Fri, 20 Jul 2018 18:11:40 +0000 (14:11 -0400)
committerMichael Meffie <mmeffie@sinenomine.net>
Fri, 20 Jul 2018 18:15:12 +0000 (14:15 -0400)
This reverts commit 2f379c77cc0f2b8062222dcf8951db77a05946ca.

StrictHostKeyChecking=no is insecure, so we shouldn't be suggesting this
in general. If you have script doing this, you can append the well-known
host fingerprint to the .ssh/known_hosts file before running ssh/scp and
then the keycheck will not prompt.

The hook should be placed in to the local .git/hooks directory, not a
global one under home directory, as different projects can have
different commit hooks.

devel/GitDevelopers.mdwn

index 6e67232..f0dd0c0 100644 (file)
@@ -245,8 +245,7 @@ Gerrit introduces the concept of "change IDs". This is a unique reference for a
 
 The hook should be downloaded from the [[OpenAFS]] gerrit server by running the following, in the top level of your git tree
 
-    mkdir -p ~/.git/hooks
-    scp -oStrictHostKeyChecking=no -p -P 29418 gerrit.openafs.org:hooks/commit-msg ~/.git/hooks/
+    scp -p -P 29418 gerrit.openafs.org:hooks/commit-msg .git/hooks/
 
 ## <a name="Uploading to gerrit">Uploading to gerrit</a>