afs: Return memcache allocation errors 73/13273/2
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Tue, 7 Aug 2018 22:08:26 +0000 (17:08 -0500)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Fri, 10 Aug 2018 11:46:40 +0000 (07:46 -0400)
commit0da5ac4d9fb2a9b46c7415403a3cd26e711554e2
tree642af6f7cbb606ab17bda872203ed397efb8ffea
parent0bc5c15029cf7e720731f1415fcf9dc972d57ef4
afs: Return memcache allocation errors

During cache initialization, we can fail to allocate our dcache
entries for memcache. Currently when this happens, we just log a
message and try to disable dcache access. However, this results in at
least one code path that causes a panic anyway during startup, since
afs_CacheTruncateDaemon will try to trim the cache, and afs_GetDownD
will call afs_MemGetDSlot, and we cannot find the given dslot.

To avoid this, change our cache initialization to return an error,
instead of trying to continue without a functional dcache. This causes
afs_dcacheInit to return an error in this case, and by extension
afs_CacheInit and the AFSOP_CACHEINIT syscall. Also change afsd to
actually detect errors from AFSOP_CACHEINIT, and to bail out when it
does.

Thanks to gsgatlin@ncsu.edu for reporting the relevant panic.

Change-Id: Ic89ff9638201faae6c4399a2344d4da3e251d537
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/13273
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Michael Meffie <mmeffie@sinenomine.net>
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
src/afs/afs_dcache.c
src/afs/afs_init.c
src/afs/afs_prototypes.h
src/afsd/afsd.c