HPUX: Disable positional I/O
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Mon, 14 Feb 2011 19:53:11 +0000 (13:53 -0600)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Tue, 15 Feb 2011 05:56:40 +0000 (21:56 -0800)
commit11b2c6d6fe4dbbf5a54ae1e08e979c35ab6b7fa0
tree475ccc08d571c89537f42e2da45f05c77f6f43c8
parentf378dcf785967374309523a02ea06d6d1a3ff148
HPUX: Disable positional I/O

Some versions of HP-UX have the pread() and pwrite() functions, but
they behave in odd ways; most notably, ignoring the offset argument
when _FILE_OFFSET_BITS is defined to 64.

This is noted in recent gnulib documentation
<http://git.savannah.gnu.org/cgit/gnulib.git/tree/doc/posix-functions/pwrite.texi>,
and slightly less clear references to pread() being broken can be
found on the development mailing list for git itself.

It is not completely clear what specific HP-UX versions are affected
by this. An autoconf run-time test may also be insufficient, because
the same binaries should be usable on machines with broken and
non-broken pread() implementations. So, to be safe, disable positional
I/O on HP-UX unconditionally.

Change-Id: I09b8d9c441622c961d1df90fe27eeccaa948f5c4
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/3949
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
acinclude.m4