LINUX 5.9: Remove HAVE_UNLOCKED_IOCTL/COMPAT_IOCTL 00/14300/7
authorCheyenne Wills <cwills@sinenomine.net>
Mon, 17 Aug 2020 14:20:11 +0000 (08:20 -0600)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Fri, 21 Aug 2020 16:32:45 +0000 (12:32 -0400)
commit13a49aaf0d5c43bce08135edaabb65587e1a8031
treedff4305babfb60ffb60ce48f4bc492e00660d2aa
parentf5051b87a56b3a4f7fd7188cbd16a663eee8abbf
LINUX 5.9: Remove HAVE_UNLOCKED_IOCTL/COMPAT_IOCTL

Linux-5.9-rc1 commit 'fs: remove the HAVE_UNLOCKED_IOCTL and
HAVE_COMPAT_IOCTL defines' (4e24566a) removed the two referenced macros
from the kernel.

The support for unlocked_ioctl and compat_ioctl were introduced in
Linux 2.6.11.

Remove references to HAVE_UNLOCKED_IOCTL and HAVE_COMPAT_IOCTL using
the assumption that they were always defined.

Notes:

With this change, building against kernels 2.6.10 and older will fail.
RHEL4 (EOL in March 2017) used a 2.6.9 kernel.  RHEL5 uses a 2.6.18
kernel.

In linux-2.6.33-rc1 the commit messages for "staging: comedi:
Remove check for HAVE_UNLOCKED_IOCTL" (00a1855c) and "Staging: comedi:
remove check for HAVE_COMPAT_IOCTL" (5d7ae225) both state that all new
kernels have support for unlocked_ioctl/compat_ioctl so the checks can
be removed along with removing support for older kernels.

Change-Id: Idd2716f3573ea455f8a5e1535bca584af0787717
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/14300
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Tested-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
src/afs/LINUX/osi_ioctl.c
src/afs/LINUX/osi_vnodeops.c