INSTALL: document the minimum Linux kernel level 05/14305/5
authorCheyenne Wills <cwills@sinenomine.net>
Mon, 24 Aug 2020 17:10:30 +0000 (11:10 -0600)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Fri, 28 Aug 2020 16:24:37 +0000 (12:24 -0400)
commit16bae98ec525fa013514fb46398df682d7637ae0
treeafd843efbdd0851cc63086c2ff5f16a488c9869e
parentb968875a342ba8f11378e76560b46701f21391e8
INSTALL: document the minimum Linux kernel level

The change associated with gerrit #14300 removed support for older
Linux kernels (2.6.10 and earlier).

The commit 'Import of code from autoconf-archive' (d8205bbb4) introduced
a check for Autoconf 2.64.  Autoconf 2.64 was released in 2009.

The commit 'regen.sh: Use libtoolize -i, and .gitignore generated
build-tools' (a7cc505d3) introduced a dependency on libtool's  '-i'
option.  Libtool supported the '-i' option with libtool 1.9b in 2004.

Update the INSTALL instructions to document a minimum Linux kernel
level and the minimum levels for autoconf and libtool.

Notes: RHEL4 (EOL in 2017) had a 2.6.9 kernel and RHEL5 has a 2.6.18
kernel. RHEL5 has libtool 1.5.22 and autoconf 2.59, RHEL6 has libtool
2.2.6 and autoconf 2.63, and RHEL7 has libtool 2.4.2 and autoconf 2.69.

Change-Id: I235eeffa4adb152e05aab7aca839700816e62c83
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/14305
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
INSTALL