vol: Avoid VBUSY/VRESTARTING trick for offline vop
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Wed, 2 May 2012 16:38:57 +0000 (11:38 -0500)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>
Tue, 8 May 2012 03:21:38 +0000 (20:21 -0700)
commit21ed79aeaee2d3b2b47436db0491943829ac44a6
treec0ca54a2a5739d9ffe367c8cbf1de4b8d0715c30
parent098e6f141f2234dcd0196096ab6f739db678f746
vol: Avoid VBUSY/VRESTARTING trick for offline vop

Currently, if GetVolume() finds that the volume we're trying to attach
has a vol op that leaves the volume offline, we do the
VBUSY/VRESTARTING trick as described in CheckVnode(). This doesn't
make any sense for a couple of reasons.

For one, VBUSY/VRESTARTING is not the correct error code to return to
the client when an offline vol op is in progress and vp->specialStatus
is not set everywhere else we yield VOFFLINE.

Additionally, this block of code is only hit once for a particular vol
op. Once we reach this section, the volume is in UNATTACHED state, and
so on the next iteration of GetVolume we will immediately return
VOFFLINE (or specialStatus). So the CheckVnode-like situation is not
applicable, since we are not returning VBUSY to the same client for 15
minutes; we would return VBUSY once and then return VOFFLINE.

Change-Id: I0e8376df7937fd6bd01f9998371b9289c4ad2618
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/7302
Reviewed-by: Tom Keiser <tkeiser@sinenomine.net>
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>
src/vol/volume.c