LINUX 5.3.0: Use send_sig instead of force_sig 53/13753/7
authorCheyenne Wills <cwills@sinenomine.net>
Fri, 9 Aug 2019 20:25:03 +0000 (14:25 -0600)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Fri, 16 Aug 2019 22:42:00 +0000 (18:42 -0400)
commit2b7af1243f46496c0b5973b3fa2a6396243f7613
treea03e0f0fa79309ef34a328a38bd4ab131a3d87a3
parent02d82275c17284d04629282aa374bb39f511c989
LINUX 5.3.0: Use send_sig instead of force_sig

Linux 5.3.0 commit 3cf5d076fb4d48979f382bc9452765bf8b79e740 "signal
Remove task parameter from force_sig" (part of siginfo-linus branch)
changes the parameters for the Linux kernel function force_sig. See LKML
thread starting at https://lkml.org/lkml/2019/5/22/1351

According to the LKML discussion and the above commit message force_sig
is only safe to deliver a synchronous signal to the current task. To
send a signal to another task, we're supposed to use send_sig instead,
which has been available since at least linux 2.6.12-rc12.

Currently, rx_knet calls force_sig to kill the rxk_ListenerTask.  With
the Linux 5.3.0 kernel, this module fails to compile due to the above
noted changes.

Replace the force_sig call with send_sig.  In order to use send_sig, the
rxk_listener thread must allow SIGKILL and during shutdown (umount)
SIGKILL must be unblocked for the rxk_listener thread.

Note that SIGKILL is initially blocked on rxk_listener and is only
unblocked when shutting down the thread.  Having the signal blocked is
sufficient to prevent unwanted signals from reaching the rxk_listener
thread during normal operation.

Change-Id: I0c31d66f4ecd887ff9253ba506565592010e8bcb
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/13753
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
src/afs/LINUX/osi_misc.c
src/afs/afs_osi.c
src/afs/afs_prototypes.h
src/rx/LINUX/rx_knet.c
src/rx/rx_kcommon.c