Disable red zones for amd64 FBSD kernel code
authorBen Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Wed, 30 Jun 2010 04:40:09 +0000 (00:40 -0400)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Wed, 30 Jun 2010 16:26:07 +0000 (09:26 -0700)
commit3f5144b3edfca5187ce417da8929eea86c930ef0
tree46894399157cf366aee54e4ec6ce70807619e6e5
parentcf34a3e896c940813a05fe663764389a88715a70
Disable red zones for amd64 FBSD kernel code

The kernel has been compiled with -mno-red-zone since at least
FreeBSD 5.0; when we compile libafs.ko with red zones enabled
and interact with the red-zone-less kernel, we get occasional
stack corruption, which manifests itself in a variety of
unpleasant ways.
The flags we pass to gcc for our module build currently differ
substantially from those used during a kernel build (or modules
built with the kernel); I hope to transition to a module build
process involving bsd.kmod.mk in the relatively near future.

Change-Id: I406e264c1f96e1d893b9d12b561f48a3cbfdf57c
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/2297
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Tested-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
src/libafs/MakefileProto.FBSD.in