vos: Minimize release impact for new RO sites
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Wed, 9 May 2012 23:45:51 +0000 (18:45 -0500)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>
Thu, 26 Jul 2012 18:50:34 +0000 (11:50 -0700)
commit3fc800be9c702c1a40869908831a9895602909cb
tree81b104b9e18b3bce1f4c3c7a7ff9a68250672420
parent93aa733909e72da4a67ef8422070f417cd12b1d8
vos: Minimize release impact for new RO sites

Currently, if a new RO site is added with 'vos addsite', the only way
to populate the new site with data is a 'vos release' (excepting hacks
using 'vos restore' and 'vos addsite -live', etc). Due to safeguards
in 'vos' ensuring that RO sites always all contain the same data when
marked as up-to-date in the VLDB, such a release always incurs some
amount of data to be transmitted to all sites, as well as remote sites
being brought offline briefly, even when the RW data has not changed
in very long time.

To alleviate this situation, make 'vos release' detect if new,
unpopulated RO sites have been added, and if the RW volume has not
changed since the release of any existing RO sites. If both of these
conditions are true, do not update any of the existing sites, but only
transmit volume data to the sites that did not already contain RO
volumes.

Change-Id: If343d241a18e788c3619876f5d494d2ebf425cb8
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/7393
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
src/volser/vsprocs.c