Add "pretty" build option
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Wed, 13 Apr 2011 18:15:57 +0000 (13:15 -0500)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>
Wed, 9 Nov 2011 03:39:46 +0000 (19:39 -0800)
commit49cb0d00909693b85f52d87a26d5df69a829d9d5
tree7712b6af6aaf4a9254639f925a2f9afd6346d399
parent5c64df8628e60f2e4c55aaf3e53fb01c140b42ed
Add "pretty" build option

Add the capability to do a "pretty" build, where we output something
like "  CC  /path/to/foo.o" to build foo.o, instead of the entire
compiler invocation, similarly to how the Linux kernel build appears.
Add the "pretty" building for CC and LD rules.

This also prints out some helpful information when a command fails,
which can sometimes otherwise be annoying to figure out post-mortem.

To enable the pretty building, make with V=0. To output everything
that is actually run with V=0, make with 'V=0 Q=' .

Note that this does not work with all makes, since not all makes will
propagate command-line-specified variables to sub-makes without -e.
Non-working makes include /usr/ccs/bin/make on HP-UX and Solaris.
However, GNU make will work, as will /usr/xpg4/bin/make on Solaris.

Change-Id: Idce0afffe7d5be88b0743ec3f926a52efb1a6a74
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/4486
Reviewed-by: Russ Allbery <rra@stanford.edu>
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>
14 files changed:
src/butc/Makefile.in
src/comerr/Makefile.in
src/config/Makefile.config.in
src/config/Makefile.lwp.in
src/config/Makefile.pthread.in
src/config/Makefile.shared.in
src/export/Makefile.in
src/kopenafs/Makefile.in
src/lwp/Makefile.in
src/pam/Makefile.in
src/ptserver/Makefile.in
src/venus/Makefile.in
src/viced/Makefile.in
src/vol/Makefile.in