afsio is a command to pipe data into or out of afs files
authorHartmut Reuter <reuter@rzg.mpg.de>
Wed, 30 Sep 2009 08:06:14 +0000 (10:06 +0200)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow|account-1000005@unknown>
Mon, 5 Oct 2009 09:14:34 +0000 (02:14 -0700)
commit4e3d3d50496cc96799a84cf98873d6f68e9a8ca7
treec7754ff737e8555eb5d5c0ff7fa7df6ea69a316c
parentdb23268f682564000f2ac4f9f845d4fd261d4c90
afsio is a command to pipe data into or out of afs files

afsio bypasses the cache manager to achieve higher throughput.
However, it uses the cache manager to stat or create files over the
AFS path.

Besides 'apropos' and 'help' there are 3 subcommands:

'write' pipes data into a new or empty AFS file

'append' pipes data at the end of an existing AFS file

'read' pipes data out of an AFS file

for 'write' there is an option '-md5' which calculates on the fly
the md5 chscksum and prints it to stdout. (Useful when you create
long time archives to keep it separately for later ...)

for 'write' there is also an option '-synthesize <size>' to do just
performance tests. It creates a file which contains at the
begin of each 4 KB block the offset printed in ascii.

for all subcommands exists a '-verbose' option which writes to
stderr data rate and timing information.

All three subcommands may also be used prefixed with 'fid' accepting
then a Fid instead of an AFS path. With the 'fid' prefix also a '-cell'
option is allowed.

Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/555
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Tested-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
src/config/stds.h
src/util/afsutil_prototypes.h
src/util/volparse.c
src/venus/Makefile.in
src/venus/afsio.c [new file with mode: 0644]