xstat: prevent CPU loop when -period 0 66/14366/4
authorMark Vitale <mvitale@sinenomine.net>
Fri, 18 Sep 2020 16:46:57 +0000 (12:46 -0400)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Fri, 23 Oct 2020 15:41:30 +0000 (11:41 -0400)
commit4e85324729f8c11135b131310089fff4d81692e9
tree5c80835cdaf7117484d685b0f76f9bbb967e221b
parent74f46e0912b3f9061d7fadc3b3d08a11d6adda97
xstat: prevent CPU loop when -period 0

Historically xstat_cm_test and xstat_fs_test have supported option
'-period <mm>' to specify continuous operaiton for a length of time.  If
'-period 0' was specified, both programs exited immediately.

Beginning with commits 2c1a7e47336c8f8d14dd6c65d53925a9e0e87c66 'xstat:
add xstat_*_Wait functions' and 6b67cac432043a43d7cdfa6af972ab54412aff94
'convert xstat and friends to pthreads', xstat_cm_test and xstat_fs_test
now support -period 0 to run "forever".  This support is implemented in
xstat_cm_Wait and xstat_fs_Wait, respectively.  Although the "wait
forever" logic was added to allow consolidation of similar code in
afsmonitor, it also changed how xstat_cm_test and xstat_fs_test behave
for '-period 0'.

Unfortunately, there is a bug in this support, at least when running on
pthreads.  After the initial 24 minute timer expires, the while (1) will
repeatedly run select with a timeout that is now 0.  This causes the
while loop to consume 100% of the CPU on which this thread is
dispatched.

Instead, modify the wait-forever logic to specify NULL for the select()
timeout value.  Also update the man page to document that '-period 0'
means forever.

Change-Id: I25d0d5be0eedb8bf3de495785b9b03a3e3d45221
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/14366
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
doc/man-pages/pod1/xstat_fs_test.pod
src/xstat/xstat_cm.c
src/xstat/xstat_fs.c