vol: avoid query for parent id when deleting disk header 39/12839/4
authorMichael Meffie <mmeffie@sinenomine.net>
Thu, 21 Dec 2017 16:59:38 +0000 (11:59 -0500)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Fri, 19 Oct 2018 02:45:56 +0000 (22:45 -0400)
commit65b55bcc26f69f25c67518f672b34be73f3be370
treea54bcd8d878084c74b94534007854f642f88fafd
parent2f2c2ce62aa17ecac3651d64c1168af926f7458b
vol: avoid query for parent id when deleting disk header

When a DAFS volume server removes a volume disk header file (V*.vol),
the volume server invokes an fssync command to have the file server
delete the Volume Group Cache (VGC) entry corresponding to the volume id
and the parent id of the removed volume header.

The volume parent id is unknown to the volume server when removing a
volume disk header on behalf of a "vos zap -force" operation. In this
case, the volume server issues a fssync query to attempt look up to the
parent id from the file server's VGC.  If this fssync query fails for
some reason, volume server is unable to delete the VGC entry for the
deleted volume header. The volume server logs an error and vos zap
reports a undocumented error code.

One common way this can be encountered is to issue a "vos zap -force" on
a file server that has just been restarted. In this case, the VGC may
not be fully populated yet, so the volume server is not able to look up
the parent id of the given volume.

With this commit, relax the requirement for the parent id when deleting
VGC entries. A placeholder of 0 is used to mean any parent id for the
given volume id.

This obviates the need to query for the parent id when performing a "vos
zap -force", and allows the volume server to remove any VGC entries
associated with the volume id being zapped.

Change-Id: Iee8647902d93a3c992fca4c4f3880a3393f0b95f
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/12839
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
src/vol/vg_cache.c
src/vol/vg_scan.c
src/vol/vutil.c