viced: Do not ignore all InlineBulkStatus errors
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Fri, 2 Mar 2012 20:55:04 +0000 (14:55 -0600)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>
Mon, 26 Mar 2012 01:28:27 +0000 (18:28 -0700)
commit690a4c144b53fd1f3538d83017ecf581a2bcded5
tree12bb28df65c93088bd2114b94dafdeaae42788f4
parenta0a1ad06c2dd632e3e471e5f40ff3eda470bf71a
viced: Do not ignore all InlineBulkStatus errors

InlineBulkStatus currently returns 0 unconditionally, no matter what
errors are encountered. If we encounter an error early enough, from
CallPreamble for example, we do not fill in the OutStats nor CallBacks
structures at all. Since we return success anyway, this results in the
client getting AFSFetchStatus structures full of zeroes (or garbage,
before commit 726e1e13ff93e2cc1ac21964dc8d906869e64406).

Since current OpenAFS clients do not perform any sanity checks on the
information received, this can result in cache corruption of files
being seen incorrectly as empty, and, before commit 726e1e, more
arbitrary corruption.

So instead, return an error if we encounter an error before we iterate
over the given FIDs. We still of course do not return an error for any
errors encountered during the actual metadata retrieval, as those are
reflected in the individual per-fid status structures.

Change-Id: Icfab4516e510be5f0063ddf9c69f11ab3d511b35
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/6871
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>
Reviewed-by: Jeffrey Altman <jaltman@secure-endpoints.com>
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
src/viced/afsfileprocs.c