volser: document 'vos restore -readonly' restriction 48/14348/4
authorMark Vitale <mvitale@sinenomine.net>
Fri, 28 Aug 2020 20:19:29 +0000 (16:19 -0400)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Fri, 13 Nov 2020 15:35:15 +0000 (10:35 -0500)
commit8e1c321dc8e85966383760a6765f7f192ecf632a
tree531a9e3fdbcbfd66e419990973a397ac16f354da
parent0bcfe89d68972bf67cf891c89da519a455401327
volser: document 'vos restore -readonly' restriction

Commit 0c03f8607e15 vos-command-enhancements-20011008 introduced the
'vos restore' -readonly option, which allows the restored volume to be
RO instead of the default RW.  The commit message documents the
following restriction:

- ... This option causes the restored volume to be an RO volume.  It is
  not permitted to restore an RO volume when the associated RW volume
  already exists.  While it is possible to restore an RW volume where an
  RO volume exists, caution should be used to avoid doing this with VLDB
  entries created by 'vos restore -readonly', since such entries have
  their ROVOL and RWVOL ID's set to the same thing.

Document this restriction in the 'vos restore' man page, and in a code
comment.

No functional change is incurred by this commit.

Change-Id: I34f6c5434b82da538a38a9d219207b33dcf62b17
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/14348
Reviewed-by: Andrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
doc/man-pages/pod1/vos_restore.pod.in
src/volser/vsprocs.c