volser: ensure GCTrans transaction walk remains valid 86/13286/5
authorMark Vitale <mvitale@sinenomine.net>
Fri, 17 Aug 2018 22:48:08 +0000 (18:48 -0400)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Fri, 21 Sep 2018 13:12:31 +0000 (09:12 -0400)
commit930d8ee638112ca8bf27a9528c0a527cfab54c7d
treedce465b0f82642aabc215d9ddab8f35b641363ab
parent89b50fdec9ab2dafe24b873f25c2cdb71b154e44
volser: ensure GCTrans transaction walk remains valid

Commit bc56f5cc97a982ee29219e6f258b372dbfe1a020 ("volser: Delete
timed-out temporary volumes") introduced new logic to GCTrans().
Unfortunately, part of this logic temporarily drops VTRANS_LOCK in order
to call VPurgeVolume().  While this lock is dropped, other volser_trans
may be added or deleted from the allTrans list.  Therefore, GCTrans
should not trust the next pointer (nt = tt->next) which was obtained
before the lock was dropped.

One symptom observed in the field was a segfault while examining
tt->volume.  Neither tt nor volume were valid any longer, since tt had
been set from a stale nt at the top of the loop.

To repair, improve, and clarify this logic:
- Refactor so nt is assigned correctly and as late as possible.
- Add comments to explain the placement of the assigns to future
maintainers.

Change-Id: Ibd3a504bddd3622730aa349576341e20f2f27836
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/13286
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
src/volser/voltrans.c