afs: Throttle byte-range locks warnings per-file
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Fri, 31 Jan 2014 22:46:12 +0000 (16:46 -0600)
committerD Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>
Thu, 6 Feb 2014 04:04:52 +0000 (20:04 -0800)
commit9f90b12e14e5511cb1c11cbc4d85cfa291be861f
tree3004fa0f93d978d59239526117f2b03ffdeea52a
parent1096582bde6156bb469f2e397cbc40d13a8f2822
afs: Throttle byte-range locks warnings per-file

Currently, the warning messages about byte-range locks are throttled
only according to what the last PID of the locking process was. So, if
that same process performs a bunch of byte-range locks a bunch of
times, we log this warning message at most once every 2 minutes.

However, if we have even just one other process also performing
byte-range locks, the throttling can become pretty useless as
lastWarnPid ping-pongs back and forth between the two different PIDs.
This can happen if multiple unrelated byte-range-lock-using pieces of
software just happen to be running on the same machine, or if a piece
of software uses byte-range locks after forking into separate
processes.

To avoid flooding the log in situations like this, keep track of the
last warn time in the relevant vcache, so we don't get frequent
warnings for byte-range lock requests on the same file.

Change-Id: I446cf6a438a75aa741c5543b93f74f4184ee6508
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/10796
Reviewed-by: D Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
src/afs/VNOPS/afs_vnop_flock.c
src/afs/afs.h