vol: check for bad partition names 38/13038/2
authorMichael Meffie <mmeffie@sinenomine.net>
Sat, 28 Apr 2018 02:59:57 +0000 (22:59 -0400)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Sat, 19 May 2018 14:15:10 +0000 (10:15 -0400)
commitc0f2c26e9298d12209fbb5e523ea3173202316e5
tree0aee7b296e337360bded7e7130cd57dcb38a4d06
parentf1d389e80367c7ea532441f9aa27a6cc3e2853a7
vol: check for bad partition names

Currently, servers attempt to attach any partition name starting with
"/vicep", even partition names which map to out of range partition ids.
Examples of such misnamed partitions are "/vicepzz", "/vicep0", and
others.

The presence of these misnamed partitions cause the server processes to
crash on startup, since the out of range partition ids are used as an
index.

Add a check for the bad partition names in VCheckPartitions to avoid
attaching them. Log a warning for such partitions to let the admins know
why the partitions are not attached.

Change-Id: I553ce6cc8bc751b9ed789312f7efb4e0f737a52e
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/13038
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Reviewed-by: Marcio Brito Barbosa <mbarbosa@sinenomine.net>
Reviewed-by: Andrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Reviewed-by: Mark Vitale <mvitale@sinenomine.net>
Tested-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
src/vol/partition.c