Permit DNS SRV record lookups to be used by the Windows afsconf_GetAfsdbInfo
authorJeffrey Altman <jaltman@your-file-system.com>
Tue, 6 Oct 2009 18:46:09 +0000 (14:46 -0400)
committerJeffrey Altman <jaltman|account-1000011@unknown>
Thu, 8 Oct 2009 11:07:08 +0000 (04:07 -0700)
commite249aace420e20996fef8ace2b5051d5bbdcd809
tree78d66c4129b5224ed34a1827ae89e24667d6b0db
parent38ffa111190548f2648f15dd7f1d3469c7f96e08
Permit DNS SRV record lookups to be used by the Windows afsconf_GetAfsdbInfo

Permit DNS SRV record lookups to be used by the Windows afsconf_GetAfsdbInfo

As per the published DNS SRV internet draft for the AFS3 protocol,
DNS SRV records are to replace AFSDB records as the primary method
of looking up AFS3 service location information.

In order to make that happen for Windows:

1. afsconf_GetAfsdbInfo must be able to translate from internal service
names to IANA assigned service names.

2. The Windows getAFSServer() API must accept IANA service and protocol
parameters as well as the port number to use if AFSDB record fallback is
required.

3. The Windows cache manager must pay attention to the port number
stored within the sockaddr_in structure instead of using hard coded
values based upon the server type.
For afsconf_GetAfsdbInfo, in addition to searching for the requested
IANA service, if that service is prserver or kaserver fallback to
the vlserver record (if any).

LICENSE MIT

Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/593
Reviewed-by: Jeffrey Altman <jaltman@openafs.org>
Tested-by: Jeffrey Altman <jaltman@openafs.org>
src/WINNT/afsd/afsd_init.c
src/WINNT/afsd/cm_callback.c
src/WINNT/afsd/cm_config.c
src/WINNT/afsd/cm_conn.c
src/WINNT/afsd/cm_dns.c
src/WINNT/afsd/cm_dns.h
src/WINNT/afsd/cm_ioctl.c
src/WINNT/afsd/cm_server.c
src/WINNT/afsd/cm_volume.c
src/auth/cellconfig.c