autoconf: use AC_CHECK_TOOL for as and ld 44/14544/5
authorCheyenne Wills <cwills@sinenomine.net>
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 18:08:39 +0000 (11:08 -0700)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 16:02:22 +0000 (11:02 -0500)
commit268025f841f1a2bd16b802459a8b590939331bcd
treec3212ae6369b2fc368fc550ea30d50f3e9409c87
parenta9cff4ab4c9eba40145706778664318de2d89c12
autoconf: use AC_CHECK_TOOL for as and ld

Some platforms use the GNU target triplet as a prefix to the toolchain
utilities (e.g. x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-as) to allow the use of alternative
toolchains, cross-compiling, etc.

The Gentoo Linux distribution has a mode of building packages
(-native-symlinks) where the toolchain utilities only exist as their
prefixed names (e.g. 'as' does not exist, but 'x86_64_pc-linux-gnu-as'
does). This results in configure failing to locate the tools when using
AC_CHECK_PROGS.  (Gentoo uses the --host and --build configure
parameters to specify the prefix names for the tools).

Replace AC_CHECK_PROGS with AC_CHECK_TOOL for the toolchain related
commands 'as' and 'ld'.

AC_CHECK_TOOL works like AC_CHECK_PROGS but it will also look for
the program with a prefix (specified by using configure's --host
parameter).

Note: libtool.m4 runs AC_CHECK_TOOL for ar.

Change-Id: I8005c765d213b7d1d6292a7dd80f10a3d0e2ec68
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/14544
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
src/cf/osconf.m4