Initialize oldvtix
authorMarc Dionne <marc.c.dionne@gmail.com>
Thu, 22 Apr 2010 21:22:37 +0000 (17:22 -0400)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Mon, 26 Apr 2010 04:10:21 +0000 (21:10 -0700)
Initialize the variable to avoid compiler complaints that it
could be used uninitialized.  Use a sentinel value and issue
a warning if we try to use the variable and we haven't set
it to a useful value.

Change-Id: I037be2ad8e0b55d06b50aafdeca5012764640f16
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/1810
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Tested-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>

src/afs/afs_volume.c

index cdfe174..4548abd 100644 (file)
@@ -119,7 +119,7 @@ afs_UFSGetVolSlot(void)
     afs_int32 bestTime;
     struct volume *bestVp, *oldLp = NULL, **bestLp = NULL;
     char *oldname = NULL;
-    afs_int32 oldvtix;
+    afs_int32 oldvtix = -2; /* Initialize to a value that doesn't occur */
 
     AFS_STATCNT(afs_UFSGetVolSlot);
     if (!afs_freeVolList) {
@@ -207,6 +207,10 @@ afs_UFSGetVolSlot(void)
 
  error:
     if (tv) {
+       if (oldtvix == -2) {
+           afs_warn("afs_UFSGetVolSlot: oldvtix is uninitialized\n");
+           return NULL;
+       }
        if (oldname) {
            tv->name = oldname;
            oldname = NULL;