Redhat: 'clean build area' error message during dkms build/install 60/13460/2
authorCheyenne Wills <cwills@sinenomine.net>
Sat, 26 Jan 2019 00:35:51 +0000 (17:35 -0700)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Mon, 4 Feb 2019 22:54:29 +0000 (17:54 -0500)
dkms invokes a make clean command before and after building the kernel
module. The make clean that is issued at the start of building results
in a nuisance error message because the Makefile doesn't yet exist

    Building module:
    cleaning build area...(bad exit status: 2)

In the dkms.conf file, built from within the openafs.spec, change the
command defined in the CLEAN statement to test for the existence of the
Makefile prior to running the actual make clean

Change-Id: Ifc0d5eed6ef0cbc3ddfd193d27bbcb8a7cf52f2a
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/13460
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Michael Meffie <mmeffie@sinenomine.net>
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>

src/packaging/RedHat/openafs.spec.in

index 23d8471..97c667c 100644 (file)
@@ -851,7 +851,7 @@ PACKAGE_VERSION="%{dkms_version}"
 # Items below here should not have to change with each driver version.
 PACKAGE_NAME="%{name}"
 MAKE[0]='./configure --with-linux-kernel-headers=${kernel_source_dir} --with-linux-kernel-packaging && make && case "${kernelver_array[0]}${kernelver[0]}" in 2.4.*) mv src/libafs/MODLOAD-*/libafs-* openafs.o ;; *) mv src/libafs/MODLOAD-*/openafs.ko . ;; esac'
-CLEAN="make -C src/libafs clean"
+CLEAN="if [ -e src/libafs/Makefile ]; then make -C src/libafs clean; else true; fi"
 
 BUILT_MODULE_NAME[0]="$PACKAGE_NAME"
 DEST_MODULE_LOCATION[0]="/extra/$PACKAGE_NAME/"