Add a Debian/Ubuntu subsection
authorBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Mon, 3 Nov 2014 18:13:44 +0000 (13:13 -0500)
committerD Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>
Wed, 5 Nov 2014 13:29:05 +0000 (08:29 -0500)
As an alternative to rpm-based systems or "systems packaged as
tar files".  Luckily, the instructions are pretty simple.

Change-Id: I8045763b518465c3ffd7fe3f177fff98146033fb
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/11579
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: D Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>

doc/xml/QuickStartUnix/auqbg005.xml

index 511f1b4..c555e68 100644 (file)
       </para>
       </sect3>
       <sect3>
+        <title>Debian and Ubuntu Linux</title>
+        <para>OpenAFS is available as binary packages from the Debian
+          linux distribution and its derivatives such as Ubuntu.
+        <orderedlist>
+          <listitem>
+            <para>Install the client and server packages using the following command:
+              <programlisting>
+# apt-get install openafs-client openafs-modules-dkms openafs-krb5 \
+  openafs-fileserver openafs-dbserver
+              </programlisting>
+              You will be prompted by debconf to select your cell name and
+              the size of your local cache.
+            </para>
+          </listitem>
+        </orderedlist>
+      </para>
+      <para>The Debian package also includes helper scripts
+        <literal>afs-newcell</literal> and <literal>afs-rootvol</literal>,
+        which can automate much of the remainder of this document.
+      </para>
+      </sect3>
+      <sect3>
          <title>Systems packaged as tar files</title>
          <para>If you are running a system where the OpenAFS Binary Distribution
          is provided as a tar file, or where you have built the system from