doc: volinfo manpage fixes
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Sat, 27 Jul 2013 02:49:05 +0000 (21:49 -0500)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>
Mon, 4 Nov 2013 19:57:44 +0000 (11:57 -0800)
We now have a -checkout option, but no -online option. Document
-checkout and remove -online.

Change-Id: Ie8d6e35c6e09abf994b8417b3bb20ee379095a25
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/10407
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>

doc/man-pages/pod8/volinfo.pod

index d4c0e38..9131b36 100644 (file)
@@ -7,7 +7,7 @@ volinfo - Produces detailed statistics about AFS volume headers
 =for html
 <div class="synopsis">
 
-B<volinfo> [B<-online>] [B<-vnode>] [B<-date>] [B<-inode>] [B<-itime>]
+B<volinfo> [B<-checkout>] [B<-vnode>] [B<-date>] [B<-inode>] [B<-itime>]
     S<<< [B<-part> <I<AFS partition name (default current partition)>>+] >>>
     S<<< [B<-volumeid> <I<volume id>>+] >>> [B<-header>] [B<-sizeonly>]
     [B<-fixheader>] [B<-saveinodes>] [B<-orphaned>] [B<-filenames>] [B<-help>]
@@ -28,9 +28,11 @@ display output for one volume only, include the B<-volumeid> argument.
 
 =over 4
 
-=item B<-online>
+=item B<-checkout>
 
-Is nonoperational.
+Checkout the specified volume from the running fileserver. This ensures that
+the fileserver or other processes will not be modifying volume metadata at the
+same time we are trying to read it, leading to invalid or incorrect results.
 
 =item B<-vnode>