doc: clarify setcrypt defaults
authorKen Dreyer <ktdreyer@ktdreyer.com>
Sat, 27 Jul 2013 15:22:56 +0000 (09:22 -0600)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>
Fri, 2 Aug 2013 15:58:56 +0000 (08:58 -0700)
Change-Id: I0145ecc9935786204d215a11459d170f6220657b
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/10111
Reviewed-by: Jason Edgecombe <jason@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Michael Laß <lass@mail.uni-paderborn.de>
Reviewed-by: Jeffrey Altman <jaltman@your-file-system.com>
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>
Tested-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>

doc/man-pages/pod1/fs_setcrypt.pod

index 495b415..8fda10c 100644 (file)
@@ -22,7 +22,11 @@ authentication, which uses Kerberos 5 or klog/kaserver. The complement of
 this command is B<fs getcrypt>, which shows the status of encryption on
 the client.
 
-The default encryption status is enabled.
+The default encryption status is enabled on Windows. It is disabled on all
+non-Windows clients by default. You may enable encryption by default on
+non-Windows platforms by executing B<fs setcrypt -crypt on> immediately
+after the client daemon starts. For example, on Linux, you can do this
+within the SysV init script, or with systemd's ExecStartPost parameter.
 
 This is a global setting and applies to all subsequent connections to an
 AFS File Server from this Cache Manager. There is no way to enable or