salvager: fix error message for invalid volumeid 88/12288/2
authorMark Vitale <mvitale@sinenomine.net>
Wed, 18 May 2016 04:36:12 +0000 (00:36 -0400)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Sun, 6 Nov 2016 20:15:46 +0000 (15:15 -0500)
If the specified volumeid is invalid (e.g. volume name was specified
instead of volume number), the error is reported via Log().  However,
commit 24fed351fd13b38bfaf9f278c914a47782dbf670 moved the log opening
logic from before this check to after it, effectively making this Log()
call a no-op.

Instead, use fprintf to issue the error message.

Change-Id: I488bc93b178c7973e48d7c9ef4e7ecde9ba62696
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/12288
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>

src/vol/salvager.c

index 3bc9351..297ea3d 100644 (file)
@@ -200,7 +200,7 @@ handleit(struct cmd_syndesc *as, void *arock)
        seenvol = 1;
        vid_l = strtoul(ti->data, &end, 10);
        if (vid_l >= MAX_AFS_UINT32 || vid_l == ULONG_MAX || *end != '\0') {
-           Log("salvage: invalid volume id specified; salvage aborted\n");
+           fprintf(stderr, "salvage: invalid volume id specified; salvage aborted\n");
            Exit(1);
        }
        vid = (VolumeId)vid_l;