Log shutdown progress
authorArne Wiebalck <Arne.Wiebalck@cern.ch>
Fri, 10 Jan 2014 16:29:11 +0000 (17:29 +0100)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>
Wed, 5 Feb 2014 14:35:53 +0000 (06:35 -0800)
Shutting down fileservers with thousands of volumes can take a while and
it is helpful for operations to actually see that there is progress when
detaching volumes. This patch adds a log message to the fileserver log
every time 100 volumes have been detached.

Change-Id: I1685aa62335b223cf7cd3286188781318084c22f
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/10797
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Perry Ruiter <pruiter@sinenomine.net>
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>

src/vol/volume.c

index 7eb239d..89a9314 100644 (file)
@@ -1791,9 +1791,14 @@ ShutdownVByPForPass_r(struct DiskPartition64 * dp, int pass)
 {
     struct rx_queue * q = queue_First(&dp->vol_list, rx_queue);
     int i = 0;
+    const char *pass_strs[4] = {"{un/pre}attached vols", "vols w/ vol header loaded", "vols w/o vol header loaded", "vols with exclusive state"};
 
-    while (ShutdownVolumeWalk_r(dp, pass, &q))
+    while (ShutdownVolumeWalk_r(dp, pass, &q)) {
        i++;
+       if (0 == i%100) {
+           Log("VShutdownByPartition:  ... shut down %d volumes on %s in pass %d (%s)\n", i, VPartitionPath(dp), pass, pass_strs[pass]);
+       }
+    }
 
     return i;
 }