Add NEWS entry for recent ubik changes 79/12679/2
authorBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Wed, 2 Aug 2017 01:50:37 +0000 (20:50 -0500)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Fri, 4 Aug 2017 00:42:08 +0000 (20:42 -0400)
Of the ubik-fix-write-after-recovery topic, this seems like the most
noteworthy portion, with the other bits wrapped up in the preface.

Change-Id: Icc1afb9f851ef2d7ade49c2382cc023997f1bf26
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/12679
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>

NEWS

diff --git a/NEWS b/NEWS
index a944a8f..a9b6ca4 100644 (file)
--- a/NEWS
+++ b/NEWS
@@ -160,6 +160,11 @@ OpenAFS 1.8.0pre2
 
     * Ubik servers using pthreads are now available and are used by default
 
+    * As part of improving Ubik reliability in certain edge cases, an extra
+      election cycle (about 60 seconds) may be needed before writes are
+      permitted.  This is a conservative change that may be removed in
+      the future.
+
     * Remove periodic background fsync by the fileserver (ihandle fsync thread).
 
     * Fix potential file handle leak in the file server ihandle caching layer.