Fix optimized IRIX kernel module builds 11/12111/2
authorBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Mon, 23 Nov 2015 00:22:58 +0000 (18:22 -0600)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Sun, 24 Jan 2016 23:27:02 +0000 (18:27 -0500)
Commit 9f94892f8d996a522e7801ef6088a13769bee7c2 (from 2006)
introduced per-file CFLAGS, using $(CFLAGS-$@); this construct
is not parsed well by IRIX make, which ends up attempting to
expand '$@)' and finding mismatched parentheses.

Commit 5987e2923a2670a27a801461dc9668ec88ed7d2a (from 2007) followed,
fixing the IRIX build but only for the NOOPT case.  This left the
problematic expression in CFLAGS_OPT until 2013, when another RT
ticket was filed reporting the continued breakage.  That ticket
was then ignored until 2015 (now) with no particular cries of
outrage on the mailing lists.  Perhaps this gives some indication
of the size and/or mindset of the IRIX userbase.  (There have
been successful IRIX installations during this time period, so
presumably it was discovered that disabling optimizations helped
the build along.)

FIXES 131621

Change-Id: Id5298103221b016239723aa08ebe0dc54bdadc5e
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/12111
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Chas Williams <3chas3@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Michael Meffie <mmeffie@sinenomine.net>
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>

src/libafs/Makefile.common.in

index 1822294..406b8e0 100644 (file)
@@ -49,7 +49,7 @@ COMMON_INCLUDE = -I. -I.. -I../nfs \
 .c.o:
        $(RUN_CC) $(CC) $(COMMON_INCLUDE) $(CFLAGS) $(CFLAGS-$(@)) $(KERN_DBG) -c $<
 CRULE_NOOPT=   $(RUN_CC) $(CC) $(COMMON_INCLUDE) $(KERN_DBG) $(CFLAGS) $(CFLAGS-$(@)) -o $@ -c
-CRULE_OPT=     $(RUN_CC) $(CC) $(COMMON_INCLUDE) $(KERN_DBG) $(KERN_OPTMZ) $(CFLAGS) $(CFLAGS-$@) -o $@ -c
+CRULE_OPT=     $(RUN_CC) $(CC) $(COMMON_INCLUDE) $(KERN_DBG) $(KERN_OPTMZ) $(CFLAGS) $(CFLAGS-$(@)) -o $@ -c
 
 system:        all