DAFS: document the limits of -vhashsize
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Thu, 2 Sep 2010 18:11:32 +0000 (13:11 -0500)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Thu, 30 Sep 2010 13:28:49 +0000 (06:28 -0700)
You can only specify a -vhashsize between 6 and 28 (inclusive).
Document that in the dafileserver man page.

Change-Id: I44d1c71f4ff303174e8aebf74b0b9075c07bc8b4
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/2650
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Tested-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>

doc/man-pages/pod8/dafileserver.pod.in

index cc2dbd2..5545b58 100644 (file)
@@ -58,7 +58,10 @@ The default is C<both>.
 =item B<-vhashsize <I<size>>
 
 The log(2) number of of volume hash buckets.  Default is 8 (i.e., by
-default, there are 2^8 = 256 volume hash buckets).
+default, there are 2^8 = 256 volume hash buckets). The minimum that can
+be specified is 6 (64 hash buckets). In OpenAFS 1.5.77 and earlier, the
+maximum that can be specified is 14 (16384 buckets). After 1.5.77, the
+maximum that can be specified is 28 (268435456 buckets).
 
 =item B<-vlruthresh <I<minutes>>