Update 'vos shadow' man page
authorArne Wiebalck <Arne.Wiebalck@cern.ch>
Thu, 6 Dec 2012 15:23:05 +0000 (16:23 +0100)
committerKen Dreyer <ktdreyer@ktdreyer.com>
Thu, 13 Dec 2012 16:56:51 +0000 (08:56 -0800)
Change the 'vos shadow' man page to say that updating the
VLDB with shadow volumes does only work if the VLDB entries
for the corresponding source volumes are deleted first.

Change-Id: I2764776b7a03346b5b2809f796d1deed0c32933b
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/8652
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Dan van der Ster <daniel.vanderster@cern.ch>
Tested-by: Dan van der Ster <daniel.vanderster@cern.ch>
Reviewed-by: Ken Dreyer <ktdreyer@ktdreyer.com>

doc/man-pages/pod1/vos_shadow.pod.in

index 3852151..32536f6 100644 (file)
@@ -52,10 +52,11 @@ Using this command on a volume when the source volume is not the same
 as parent volume used to create the shadow will leave the destination
 volume in a unknown state.
 
-Do NOT run the B<vos syncserv> or B<vos syncvldb> on any fileserver
-containing shadow volumes. This would update the VLDB to show all
-shadowed Read/Write volumes instead of the source volumes from which
-they were copied.
+Running B<vos syncserv> or B<vos syncvldb> on a fileserver containing 
+shadow volumes will not update the VLDB with the shadowed Read/Write
+volumes as long as the entries for the source volumes still exist. In
+a disaster recovery situation the VLDB entries for the corresponding
+source volumes need hence to be deleted first.
 
 =include fragments/volsize-caution.pod