add a simple backport policy to README.GIT
authorKen Dreyer <ktdreyer@ktdreyer.com>
Mon, 10 Sep 2012 17:20:26 +0000 (11:20 -0600)
committerJeffrey Altman <jaltman@your-file-system.com>
Tue, 11 Sep 2012 00:43:05 +0000 (17:43 -0700)
This will clarify where patches should go, and who can do backports.

Change-Id: Ie3efa6522382ea0cabc5847dbc1d75d59b04a403
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/8075
Reviewed-by: Andrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Tested-by: Jeffrey Altman <jaltman@your-file-system.com>
Reviewed-by: Jeffrey Altman <jaltman@your-file-system.com>

README.GIT

index 3cb11fa..c830494 100644 (file)
@@ -58,3 +58,24 @@ that way. Do this by sending mail to openafs-bugs@openafs.org with the
 patch attached. But please use Gerrit if you can; patches sent in as bugs
 will have to be forwarded to Gerrit by someone else, and it's easier for
 everyone if you can enter them into Gerrit yourself.
+
+Backport policy
+------------
+All patches should land on master first, unless the patch fixes a bug
+that only exists in the stable branch.
+
+Once a patch has been accepted into master, anyone can propose
+backports to stable branches.
+
+When cherry-picking a commit from another branch, please append a
+"cherry picked from" section in your commit message. You'll also need
+a separate Change-ID for Gerrit to recognize this as a separate
+change. One workflow to do this:
+
+1) Use "git cherry-pick -ex" to pick your commits onto another branch.
+   The -x option will append the appropriate "cherry picked from"
+   message, and the -e option will open your editor for you to edit
+   the commit message.
+2) In your editor, delete the existing Change-ID line. Save and quit.
+3) Run "git commit --amend", saving and quitting again. Git will run
+   the commit hook and generate a new Change-ID for Gerrit.