Move check for unspecified CFLAGS in configure.ac
authorAntoine Verheijen <antoine@ualberta.ca>
Wed, 19 Jan 2011 22:57:25 +0000 (15:57 -0700)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Thu, 20 Jan 2011 01:55:23 +0000 (17:55 -0800)
configure.ac provides a check to see if the user has
specified CFLAGS and if not, it sets CFLAGS to a blank
(not NULL) string so that the resultant configure script
does not set '-g' and/or '-O2' by default. This check
occurs after AC_USE_SYSTEM_EXTENSIONS in the configure.ac
file. However, on at least some systems, such as OpenBSD,
AC_USE_SYSTEM_EXTENSIONS expands to include the code that
configure uses to set '-g -O2' so the check has no effect
and '-g' or '-O2' can not be turned off. This patch moves
the "CFLAGS specified" check so that it precedes the
AC_USE_SYSTEM_EXTENSIONS directive, in which case
everything works.

Change-Id: I68ed5a3c5129a55f7dcd7413c93f35cc7cb14b9c
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/3688
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>

configure.ac

index fdf43f3..5c1cd35 100644 (file)
@@ -22,10 +22,11 @@ AC_SUBST(LINUX_PKGVER)
 AC_SUBST(LINUX_PKGREL)
 AC_SUBST(DEB_PKGVER)
 
-AC_USE_SYSTEM_EXTENSIONS
-
 dnl If the user hasn't specified CFLAGS don't let configure pick -g -O2
 AS_IF([test -z "$CFLAGS"], [CFLAGS=" "], [])
+
+AC_USE_SYSTEM_EXTENSIONS
+
 AC_PROG_CC
 
 AC_PATH_PROGS([PATH_CPP], [cpp], [${CC-cc} -E], [$PATH:/lib:/usr/ccs/lib])