OPENAFS-SA-2018-002 ptserver: prevent PR_ListEntries information leak
authorMark Vitale <mvitale@sinenomine.net>
Tue, 26 Jun 2018 07:37:37 +0000 (03:37 -0400)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Sun, 9 Sep 2018 22:33:47 +0000 (17:33 -0500)
PR_ListEntries (pts listentries) does not properly initialize its output
buffers.  This leaks ptserver memory over the wire:

struct prlistentries
- up to 62 bytes for each entry name (PR_MAXNAMELEN 64 - 'a\0')

Initialize the buffer, and remove the now redundant memset for the
reserved fields.

Change-Id: I29d70c7e4dd567b8b046037f29f71911b8a0593f

src/ptserver/ptprocs.c

index 5e66fdf..4ce1cbf 100644 (file)
@@ -1538,6 +1538,7 @@ put_prentries(struct prentry *tentry, prentries *bulkentries)
     entry = bulkentries->prentries_val;
     entry += bulkentries->prentries_len;
 
+    memset(entry, 0, sizeof(*entry));
     entry->flags = tentry->flags >> PRIVATE_SHIFT;
     if (entry->flags == 0) {
        entry->flags =
@@ -1552,7 +1553,6 @@ put_prentries(struct prentry *tentry, prentries *bulkentries)
     entry->nusers = tentry->nusers;
     entry->count = tentry->count;
     strncpy(entry->name, tentry->name, PR_MAXNAMELEN);
-    memset(entry->reserved, 0, sizeof(entry->reserved));
     bulkentries->prentries_len++;
     return 0;
 }