doc: limitations of addsite on different partitions
authorKen Dreyer <ktdreyer@ktdreyer.com>
Mon, 31 Oct 2011 14:27:16 +0000 (08:27 -0600)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>
Fri, 4 Nov 2011 15:03:32 +0000 (08:03 -0700)
A user on the openafs-info mailing list noted that the Admin Guide is
unclear about creating read-only replicas on different partitions on
the same fileserver. Clarify the rules here.

Change-Id: I8229b4fba36c128772bb8198e6b8310a51206c03
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/5745
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Andrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>

doc/xml/AdminGuide/auagd007.xml

index e21ea53..57c90c1 100644 (file)
       index, rather than a full copy of the volume contents. Only if the
       read/write volume moves to another partition or changes
       substantially does the read-only volume consume significant disk
-      space. Read-only volumes kept on other partitions always consume the
-      full amount of disk space that the read/write source consumed when
-      the read-only volume was created.</para>
+      space. Read-only volumes kept on other servers' partitions always
+      consume the full amount of disk space that the read/write source
+      consumed when the read-only volume was created.</para>
+
+      <para>You cannot have a replica volume on a different partition of
+      the same server hosting the read/write volume. "Cheap" read-only
+      volumes must be on the same partition as the read/write; all other
+      read-only volumes must be on different servers.</para>
     </sect2>
 
     <sect2 id="Header_58">