linux: provide read and write ops even when we have aio
authorDerrick Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>
Thu, 12 Sep 2013 12:09:34 +0000 (08:09 -0400)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>
Thu, 12 Sep 2013 15:27:24 +0000 (08:27 -0700)
read/write will fall back to aio ops but e.g. writev will
fail if there is not either a write or writev op explicitly.

force the fallback via do_sync_read/do_sync_write

required with 2.6.18-348.x rhel kernels but probably not newer ones

Change-Id: I773a8e38df435015e4bc9fc353d930d14b3e6791
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/10246
Reviewed-by: Marc Dionne <marc.c.dionne@gmail.com>
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>
Tested-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>

acinclude.m4
src/afs/LINUX/osi_vnodeops.c

index 800333b..ddda7f8 100644 (file)
@@ -836,6 +836,7 @@ case $AFS_SYSNAME in *_linux* | *_umlinux*)
                 AC_CHECK_LINUX_STRUCT([cred], [session_keyring], [cred.h])
                 AC_CHECK_LINUX_STRUCT([ctl_table], [ctl_name], [sysctl.h])
                 AC_CHECK_LINUX_STRUCT([dentry_operations], [d_automount], [dcache.h])
+                AC_CHECK_LINUX_STRUCT([file_operations], [writev], [fs.h])
                 AC_CHECK_LINUX_STRUCT([inode], [i_alloc_sem], [fs.h])
                 AC_CHECK_LINUX_STRUCT([inode], [i_blkbits], [fs.h])
                 AC_CHECK_LINUX_STRUCT([inode], [i_blksize], [fs.h])
index a60027e..88d2430 100644 (file)
@@ -802,6 +802,10 @@ struct file_operations afs_file_fops = {
 #ifdef HAVE_LINUX_GENERIC_FILE_AIO_READ
   .aio_read =  afs_linux_aio_read,
   .aio_write = afs_linux_aio_write,
+#ifdef STRUCT_FILE_OPERATIONS_HAS_WRITEV
+  .read =      do_sync_read,
+  .write =     do_sync_write,
+#endif
 #else
   .read =      afs_linux_read,
   .write =     afs_linux_write,