tests: Explicitly build target 'all' by default 93/13993/3
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@dson.org>
Thu, 2 Jan 2020 02:25:05 +0000 (20:25 -0600)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Fri, 10 Jan 2020 21:10:49 +0000 (16:10 -0500)
Commit 68f40643 (Build tests by default) added new targets in our
top-level Makefile, that caused us to effectively run
'cd tests && make' as part of the default build. Since no explicit
target is provided, 'make' tries to build the first target in the
given Makefile. On some platforms (such as *BSD), 'make' finds the
first defined target as a pattern rule (%.c) from our included
makefiles, and tries to build the target %.c, which it cannot do. This
causes the build to fail with:

    cd tests && make
    make[3]: don't know how to make %.c. Stop

To fix this, just explicitly build the 'all' target when we build our
tests by default.

Change-Id: I319271482685ec35087c470d95fdcaec6e1d8c47
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/13993
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Michael Meffie <mmeffie@sinenomine.net>

Makefile.in

index 1193a4f..49298f2 100644 (file)
@@ -657,10 +657,10 @@ finale: finale_notest test_build
 finale_nolibafs: finale_nolibafs_notest test_build_nolibafs
 
 test_build: finale_notest
-       cd tests && $(MAKE)
+       cd tests && $(MAKE) all
 
 test_build_nolibafs: finale_nolibafs_notest
-       cd tests && $(MAKE)
+       cd tests && $(MAKE) all
 
 check test: finale_notest
        cd tests && $(MAKE) check