Clarify the proscription of $<
authorSimon Wilkinson <sxw@inf.ed.ac.uk>
Tue, 21 Jul 2009 13:06:36 +0000 (14:06 +0100)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Tue, 21 Jul 2009 13:19:39 +0000 (06:19 -0700)
Clarify the situations in which $< can be used, as we do use it in
some places in the tree. It is sufficiently portable in pattern rules,
but should not be used elsewhere

Also, change the function definition example to match the format used
through out the source tree.

Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/http://gerrit.openafs.org/160
Tested-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>

README.DEVEL

index 3c3d2b9..f775c0b 100644 (file)
@@ -7,8 +7,8 @@ later you can reformat for this style with the following option:
 -npro -nbad -bap -nbc -bbo -br -ce -cdw -brs -ncdb -cp1 -ncs -di2 -ndj -nfc1
 -nfca -i4 -lp -npcs -nprs -psl -sc -nsob -ts8
 
-Do not use $< in any cross-platform dir as it requires a reasonable
-make that is not available on all systems.
+Do not use $< for non-pattern rules in any cross-platform dir as it
+requires a reasonable make that is not available on all systems.
 
 Do not have build rules that build multiple targets. Make doesn't seem able
 to handle this, and it interferes with -j builds. (In particular, build the
@@ -50,7 +50,8 @@ The declaration of the routines should be done in ANSI style. If at some
 later date, it is determined that prototypes don't work on some platform 
 properly, we can use ansi2knr during the compile.
 
-       rettype routine(argtype arg)
+       rettype 
+       routine(argtype arg)
        {
 
        }