DAFS: Avoid logging harmless LEAVE_OFF failures
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Wed, 8 Dec 2010 20:57:13 +0000 (14:57 -0600)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Fri, 10 Dec 2010 21:02:04 +0000 (13:02 -0800)
The DAFS volserver can create temporary destroyMe volumes, which it
then tells the fileserver to keep offline with an FSYNC_VOL_LEAVE_OFF
message. When the fileserver doesn't know that the volume exists,
currently it responds with SYNC_DENIED, which causes the volserver to
log the error with a "negative response on circuit FSSYNC" message.

These are harmless, though, since leaving a volume offline that the
fileserver does not know about is a no-op. So return the SYNC_FAILED
code instead, which does not get logged, and is more consistent with
some other FSYNC handlers like FSYNC_VOL_DONE.

Change-Id: I315d091fb419767ae33c1846d90e5ef83372477d
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/3494
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Tested-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>

src/vol/fssync-server.c

index b9bb6e6..56bac3c 100644 (file)
@@ -742,7 +742,7 @@ FSYNC_com_VolOn(FSSYNC_VolOp_command * vcom, SYNC_response * res)
                res->hdr.reason = FSYNC_WRONG_PART;
            }
        } else {
-           code = SYNC_DENIED;
+           code = SYNC_FAILED;
            res->hdr.reason = FSYNC_UNKNOWN_VOLID;
        }
 #endif