Windows: AFSInvalidateObject can overwrite input param
authorJeffrey Altman <jaltman@your-file-system.com>
Mon, 26 Mar 2012 15:10:36 +0000 (11:10 -0400)
committerJeffrey Altman <jaltman@secure-endpoints.com>
Wed, 28 Mar 2012 04:08:56 +0000 (21:08 -0700)
commit32ad50bcee9a5b087bea7e0c9c1cfe3d1e58293e
tree405abcde092572cd2589ba5477bf194874291f84
parentf7bea476c7f6e8489372e138dc60ebcdd92c40c1
Windows: AFSInvalidateObject can overwrite input param

AFSInvalidateObject() must not be called with an AFSObjectInformationCB
pointer variable that it is not safe to overwrite as the function sets
the input value to NULL if the invalidation is going to be performed
asynchronously in a worker thread.

In AFSEnumerateDirectory(), the following call took place:

  AFSInvalidateObject( &pDirNode->ObjectInformation,
                       AFS_INVALIDATE_DATA_VERSION);

which requires a worker thread to process.  As a result, the
ObjectInformation pointer was being set to NULL which detached the
AFSObjectInformationCB from the AFSDirectoryCB.  That in turn produced
an execption in AFSLocateName() which resulted in a resource not being
freed that in turn produced a deadlock.

Change-Id: Id30e84cf96b69156d648e3b452e7e03390559c43
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/6962
Reviewed-by: Jeffrey Altman <jaltman@secure-endpoints.com>
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Tested-by: Jeffrey Altman <jaltman@secure-endpoints.com>
src/WINNT/afsrdr/kernel/lib/AFSCommSupport.cpp
src/WINNT/afsrdr/kernel/lib/AFSGeneric.cpp