vol: remove SYNC fatal_error processing
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Fri, 13 Jan 2012 18:43:16 +0000 (13:43 -0500)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>
Mon, 23 Jan 2012 15:28:03 +0000 (07:28 -0800)
commit40bf6dee2409197f7494c3d09bf2dea7c248d185
treec264e5b691aa410561910e6232be25f95864a74e
parentcd1f72649650404581cfcdcf3beeeaf2bb960bd6
vol: remove SYNC fatal_error processing

Currently SYNC clients will "disable" themselves on certain error
patterns. For example, if the server end closes its file descriptor
too many times, or takes too long and then closes the fd, the SYNC
client will return an error and set fatal_error. On any subsequent
SYNC requests, the request will immediately fail without contacting
the server, often making SYNC client programs effectively useless
until they are restarted.

There isn't really any reason to cause future requests to fail.
Transient problems in the fileserver can easily make this situation
possible (e.g. a fileserver can crash but still take several minutes
to close the SYNC fd while the core is written to disk), and so while
we may return an error for a specific problematic request, future
requests may be fine.

So, just remove everything related to fatal_error, so future SYNC
requests can continue to be attempted. Adjust some log messages to
reflect the new behavior.

Change-Id: I4b8bfe53f591a9e8541cd5a98c909208df5bcbac
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/6548
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>
src/vol/daemon_com.c
src/vol/daemon_com.h
src/vol/fssync-client.c
src/vol/salvsync-client.c