h_TossStuff_r: check held-ness after lock
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Mon, 15 Feb 2010 16:55:33 +0000 (10:55 -0600)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Mon, 22 Feb 2010 17:21:07 +0000 (09:21 -0800)
commit45aceee9842265fb0ccdb5e8f3f6d32c8d2b99ea
tree3c49b9ec744f23e4cdcfe1c5e869cb19d6afe756
parent48908e2a932420fe67fe1065d55f7e458b5cd1c2
h_TossStuff_r: check held-ness after lock

h_TossStuff_r checks if a host is held or locked by another thread
before trying to delete the host. Unfortunately, it checks if it is
locked before checking if it is held, and the lock check drops H_LOCK.
Thus, another thread could hold the host while we don't have H_LOCK, and
we could delete a host that is being held.

Although it is a bug if any thread holds a host that is being deleted,
some instances of this still exist, so make the check more robust.
Reverse the order of the tests, so we detect if someone held the host
while the lock check dropped H_LOCK.

Also log when this happens, as it indicates a bug occurring.

FIXES 126454

Change-Id: I8fa972c430e63fc46ca4fadcc3429173ac91a947
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/1312
Tested-by: Andrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Reviewed-by: Alistair Ferguson <alistair.ferguson@mac.com>
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Tested-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
src/viced/host.c