DAFS: avoid volume lock contention during initialization
authorMichael Meffie <mmeffie@sinenomine.net>
Tue, 12 Jan 2010 02:16:06 +0000 (21:16 -0500)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Tue, 13 Apr 2010 11:41:40 +0000 (04:41 -0700)
commit6b549bdba641d883609d9d33ceba957395fff37a
treeb4e00a9bb939684fec2cc8bfaa00505e62687f75
parent523d39f020f551e59b0f369c8480fa13b90db277
DAFS: avoid volume lock contention during initialization

Avoid the excessive volume lock contention during startup to
improve the time to pre-attach a very large number of volumes.
The parallel attach worker threads avoid the volume lock
while scanning the partitions for volumes and send batches of
volume ids to the main thread to be preattached under the
volume lock.

FIXES 124489

Change-Id: Ieb33a3bdd5b06349abd9c3dd994c620021cd6194
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/1092
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Tested-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
src/vol/volume.c