Windows: Wait for memory allocation if necessary
authorJeffrey Altman <jaltman@your-file-system.com>
Wed, 7 Mar 2012 14:54:54 +0000 (06:54 -0800)
committerJeffrey Altman <jaltman@secure-endpoints.com>
Tue, 13 Mar 2012 23:34:30 +0000 (16:34 -0700)
commit6fb1078e08d4077fb0602f97b1a83bcd72f55db8
tree50f7ef6b108bb4e9be2411704ad751032c86795c
parentb7f6d8e3964592543d4706c58c395fbe2f81218b
Windows: Wait for memory allocation if necessary

The kernel has a limited pool of memory.  If there is no memory
available to satisfy a request, that request will fail initially
with a STATUS_OUT_OF_RESOURCES error which in most cases is exposed
to the user-mode application as STATUS_ACCESS_DENIED.  This can
produce inconsistent results.

This patchset introduces an Event object, MemoryAvailableEvent,
which is signalled when the redirector deallocates memory.  This
should in many cases permit requests to succeed where they otherwise
would have failed immediately.

The WaitingForMemoryCount field tracks the number of threads that
are waiting for memory to become available.  A subsequent patch
could use this value to accelerate the tear down of cached data.

To avoid deadlocks, blocking threads will only wait for a maximum
of 30 seconds at a time.  As long as the redirector continues to
free memory, the thread can re-queue itself.  However, if a timeout
occurs, the allocation request will fail.

Change-Id: I0aa549be3852b31b68d7b42ecab4ca982c75f6ba
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/6886
Tested-by: Jeffrey Altman <jaltman@secure-endpoints.com>
Reviewed-by: Jeffrey Altman <jaltman@secure-endpoints.com>
src/WINNT/afsrdr/common/AFSRedirCommonStructs.h
src/WINNT/afsrdr/kernel/fs/AFSGeneric.cpp