RX: Tidy reader data locking
authorSimon Wilkinson <sxw@your-file-system.com>
Sun, 26 Sep 2010 14:48:54 +0000 (15:48 +0100)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Wed, 29 Sep 2010 03:01:49 +0000 (20:01 -0700)
commitcbaef553978b7d81ba6d7b7721bcea97fe41870a
treeab4905e06cc0cd6ab31d0d40f24db4a25225af30
parent791b7a4c660ef468286eb6f51e66b4faa4bb6c7b
RX: Tidy reader data locking

Data which is accessed only by the reader thread doesn't need to be
protected by call->lock

Remove the call->lock protection where it isn't required, which makes
certain read/write calls lock free.

Stop rx_ResetCall from manipulating reader thread data. This data will
be zero'd and cleared when the reader thread calls rx_EndCall, and
doesn't need to be reset by the Listener thread.

The change which made rx_ResetCall reset reader thread information
was originally part of 559ea99b. It caused race conditions that were
fixed by adding additional lock protection in d0cc6e, 4dadd2 and
423ab97e. This commit reverts portions of all of those changes. It
is safe to not clear the iovc in ResetCall because any NewCall must
be balanced by a corresponding EndCall in the reader thread, and
EndCall does the appropriate freeing of reader elements.

Change-Id: I450469a4591fbe4af34482a2b219708795c57e8e
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/2856
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementia.org>
Reviewed-by: Jeffrey Altman <jaltman@openafs.org>
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
src/rx/rx.c
src/rx/rx_rdwr.c