afs: Never #define away afsd_dynamic_vcaches
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Wed, 7 Mar 2012 22:36:57 +0000 (16:36 -0600)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>
Thu, 15 Mar 2012 15:41:33 +0000 (08:41 -0700)
commite5821239cde138f74f73bec1bd9a3880d08ac3df
treea00dd5852de790474e84b842b4516bfc50c36448
parent0fdcf171a8d2b2153648b6b799096e09eb469beb
afs: Never #define away afsd_dynamic_vcaches

Some versions of the Solaris Studio compiler on SPARC (at least 12.2
and possibly others, but not 12.3) get a little confused by code like
this:

    extern int foo;
    int
    somefunc(void) {
        if (0) return foo;
        return 0;
    }

When optimization is turned off, this results in an undefined symbol
reference to 'foo' (which is normal), but the resulting object file
lacks a relocation entry for the symbol 'foo', so the symbol remains
undefined after linking. In the OpenAFS tree, this occurs in
afs_daemons.c which references afs_vcount and afs_cacheStats in this
manner due to afsd_dynamic_vcaches being defined as '0' on Solaris.
The end result is that the libafs kernel module is not loadable, since
it complains about afs_vcount and afs_cacheStats being undefined, even
though the symbol definitions are also in the module.

While this is a bug in Solaris Studio and has since been fixed, it is
simple to work around this so we are usable with more compilers. If we
just always declare afsd_dynamic_vcaches as a regular variable, it
works around this issue and keeps the code a tiny bit simpler. So, do
that.

Change-Id: I3f8fc6aafd52487d729289e393fc59dac84d36ea
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/6888
Tested-by: Michael Meffie <mmeffie@sinenomine.net>
Reviewed-by: Michael Meffie <mmeffie@sinenomine.net>
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>
src/afs/afs.h
src/afs/afs_init.c