tests: Avoid WTERMSIG($?) in rx/perf-t 06/14706/2
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Mon, 19 Jul 2021 18:48:01 +0000 (13:48 -0500)
committerBenjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
Tue, 20 Jul 2021 01:39:57 +0000 (21:39 -0400)
commit60c44d0d02b59dd8527b1d64f1792c0bb142c72a
treeba5405778887b33a82d23e0a338d9fcd9191186d
parentc2db41258370159c1257ee79df10afa4a2a2d9e8
tests: Avoid WTERMSIG($?) in rx/perf-t

Currently, tests/rx/perf-t calls functions like WIFSIGNALED and
WTERMSIG on $?. However, functions like WTERMSIG expect the native
exit status code (that is, ${^CHILD_ERROR_NATIVE}). The $? var (aka
$CHILD_ERROR), is a synthetic value calculated by perl that stores the
term sig in the lowest 7 bits, and the exit code in the second-lowest
8 bits.

For most modern platforms, these two values tend to be the same. But
on modern AIX (and some other weird platforms, like VMS and BeOS), the
exit status integer is encoded differently. On AIX specifically, the
term sig is in the third-lowest 8 bits, so a process exiting on signal
15 would result in an exit status (${^CHILD_ERROR_NATIVE}) of 0xf000f,
but $? would be just 0xf. Calling WTERMSIG on 0xf000f returns 0xf, but
calling WTERMSIG on 0xf returns 0x0.

All of this means that running rx/perf-t causes the final test to fail
with "Server died with signal 0" (even when the process was killed by
signal 15), which is rather confusing.

To fix this, call WTERMSIG et al with ${^CHILD_ERROR_NATIVE} instead
of $?. Create a local var so we don't need to spell out
${^CHILD_ERROR_NATIVE} so many times.

Change-Id: I3c27642fcaf17c320a94caf57d3665d4b6a4a76e
Reviewed-on: https://gerrit.openafs.org/14706
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>
Reviewed-by: Benjamin Kaduk <kaduk@mit.edu>
tests/rx/perf-t