To reference one element of a C-string use []
authorJeffrey Altman <jaltman@secure-endpoints.com>
Wed, 15 Jul 2009 06:41:03 +0000 (02:41 -0400)
committerRuss Allbery <rra@stanford.edu>
Wed, 15 Jul 2009 07:32:24 +0000 (01:32 -0600)
Reported by Marcus Watts

Pointer arithmetic is inappropriate when attempting to output
one of the elements of an array or C-string.

LICENSE IPL10

Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/90
Verified-by: Russ Allbery <rra@stanford.edu>
Reviewed-by: Russ Allbery <rra@stanford.edu>

src/gtx/textobject.c

index b589cba..9604558 100644 (file)
@@ -436,7 +436,7 @@ gator_text_Write(struct onode *onp, char *strToWrite, int numChars,
                "[%s:%s] Writing %d chars to text object at %p (highlight=%d, skip=%d: '",
                mn, rn, numChars, onp, highlight, skip);
        for (i = 0; i < numChars; i++)
-           fprintf(stderr, "%c", strToWrite + i);
+           fprintf(stderr, "%c", strToWrite[i]);
        fprintf(stderr, "\n");
     }