ptserver: Don't check for noauth before rebuilding
authorSimon Wilkinson <sxw@your-file-system.com>
Mon, 10 Oct 2011 21:09:40 +0000 (22:09 +0100)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>
Sun, 23 Oct 2011 18:28:49 +0000 (11:28 -0700)
The ptserver database building scripts would check to see if the server
was running from a bosserver with the noauth flag set before performing
a database rebuild.

This means that you can't start ptserver normally, and then configure
the database using pts -localauth, which is the preferred method for
configuring new cells.

Remove the check for noauth. This is slightly risky, as it means that a
corrupt database could be completely erased upon restart. However, we
already check that the dbheader (65k) is entirely blank - which will
protect us against any single page corruption errors.

Change-Id: I45dbb53d7f80b0b307f88941cb1e061967fcac81
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/5653
Tested-by: Simon Wilkinson <sxw@inf.ed.ac.uk>
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@dementix.org>

src/ptserver/ptutils.c

index 0c26cb4..15af3f4 100644 (file)
@@ -1768,8 +1768,7 @@ Initdb(void)
     }
 
     if (build) {
-       /* Only rebuild database if the db was deleted (the header is zero) and we
-        * are running noAuth. */
+       /* Only rebuild database if the db was deleted (the header is zero) */
        char *bp = (char *)&cheader;
        int i;
        for (i = 0; i < sizeof(cheader); i++) {
@@ -1780,11 +1779,6 @@ Initdb(void)
                break;
            }
        }
-       if (!pr_noAuth) {
-           code = PRDBBAD;
-           afs_com_err(whoami, code,
-                       "Can't rebuild database because not running NoAuth");
-       }
     }
 
     if (code) {