viced: Avoid dangling uuid hash table entry
authorAndrew Deason <adeason@sinenomine.net>
Fri, 28 Dec 2012 17:58:33 +0000 (12:58 -0500)
committerDerrick Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>
Wed, 2 Jan 2013 20:05:21 +0000 (12:05 -0800)
Currently we add a given host to the uuid hash table, then call
RXAFS_InitCallBackState3, and then only initialize the host->interface
structure if the ICBS3 call succeeded.

If the ICBS3 call fails, we have added a host to the uuid hash table,
but the host structure does not contain that uuid. If the host is then
deleted, we will not remove the host from the uuid hash table (since
host->interface is NULL), and so the uuid hash table entry will still
point to the freed host. If that host is then later looked up via that
uuid, we can reference a freed host, which can cause all kinds of
undefined behavior.

So instead, add the host to the uuid hash table at the same time that
we initialize the host->interface structure, inside
initInterfaceAddr_r.

FIXES 131277

Change-Id: Ib2ca82cc498877ec896ab1806cf675f1271ec214
Reviewed-on: http://gerrit.openafs.org/8846
Reviewed-by: Derrick Brashear <shadow@your-file-system.com>
Tested-by: BuildBot <buildbot@rampaginggeek.com>

src/viced/host.c

index 654e0a4..e65dee0 100644 (file)
@@ -2127,7 +2127,6 @@ h_GetHost_r(struct rx_connection *tcon)
                    /* the new host is held and locked */
                } else {
                    /* This really is a new host */
-                   h_AddHostToUuidHashTable_r(&identP->uuid, host);
                    cb_conn = host->callback_rxcon;
                    rx_GetConnection(cb_conn);
                    H_UNLOCK;
@@ -4123,6 +4122,8 @@ initInterfaceAddr_r(struct host *host, struct interfaceAddr *interf)
     opr_Assert(!host->interface);
     host->interface = interface;
 
+    h_AddHostToUuidHashTable_r(&interface->uuid, host);
+
     if (LogLevel >= 125) {
        afsUUID_to_string(&interface->uuid, uuidstr, 127);